CAC Digest #7

CAC Digest #7 August 28th, 1996

{1} From Rev. Dr. Andrew Lee

Subj: Re: CAC Digest # 6
Date: Wed, Aug 28, 1996 10:10* EDT
From: 71153.2022@CompuServe.COM (Andrew Y. Lee)
To: TSTseng@aol.com

Tim:

I’ve never used a list-server but that sounds as if it’ll be convenient.
When I sent out my survey to everyone I simply created a new group called
CAC for my CompuServe Address Book and clicked once or twice and had everyone
added without clicking and pasting individually. Now when I want to send a
message I simply click on CAC and everyone is automatically addressed. I’m
not that experienced in E-mailing yet but if I did things correctly doesn’t
everyone else have the same capability?

As for the Helen Lee article, I thought it was a good summary and may draw
attention to the second generation problem. However, a comment from one of
my Korean-American seminary students was that, “It was the same old stuff.
Nothing new.” Those already involved in 2nd generation ministry are aware
of what’s going on and are seeking solutions.

The idiom “preaching to the choir” applies. How many 1st generation leaders
read Christianity Today? Ideally, stemming the exodus requires a cooperative
effort from all parties.

Andrew

Tim responds:

In addition to being convenient, a list-server would also keep our list of
subscribers up to date. You may have noticed that the number of participants
(subscribers) to this list has grown, but in order for you to post to the
newcomers, you need to keep abreast of new subscribers. That can be a bit
difficult to manage with our current set-up.

I agree with you about the Helen Lee article. When she interviewed me, I
brought up a number of issues concerning racial discrimination and other
issues that Asian Americanists consider important. Yet, whether it was
because she wanted to cover as many ethnic Asian groups as possible or
because of editorial constraints, she glossed over these issues. It’s not
that I disagree with her, but I agree with your Korean students. It’s the
same old same old geared towards a wider and more Caucasian audience.

On another note, I think that themes of “exodus” from one’s “cultural” roots
and the ambiguity of bi-cultural identity are overused when Asian
evangelicals reflect on their experiences. I’m dissatisfied by this constant
focus on the psychological-privatized experiences of Asian American
Christians. Such experiences leave out so much (e.g., political and racist
factors for such experiences) and are locked into an outdated sociological
model (i.e., the Chicago School “assimilationist” cycle of Robert Parks). I
hope that both Russ Jeung and Fenggang Yang – who are bona fide sociology
scholars – can comment and thicken this statement.

==============================

{2} From Hon Wai

Subj: No Subject
Date: Wed, Aug 28, 1996 10:33* EDT
From: hwong@math.rutgers.edu (Hon-Wai Wong)
To: TSTseng@aol.com

Dear Tim,

Thank you for your hardwork in re-directing the CAC listers’ messages. I hope
I can also take a more active part in the conversation; but I have been too
busy finding jobs and I am not so familiar with some of the conversation
topics.

I will spend my next year in Hong Kong. After getting back on own feet, I
will take a more active part.

I think we are reaching a point where a central list-server is important. If
nothing else, I begin to lose trcak of which messages follow which. Sam Ling,
for example, all a sudden sends me an email about the welfare reform, and it
takes me several minutes to know that he is talking about it. If the newgroup
have their messages grouped according to a few threads (e.g., “Helen Lee’s
article”, “Welfare reform”, etc.), it will be helpful when our list becomes
very active.

I also think that it is wise to move to a wider circle of Asian American
Christians slowly. I am of course only speaking for myself. I am not American
born, but I intend to reside in this country permanently and I will call this
country my home. That is itself a good enough reason for me to be interested
in the wider AA issues. However, Asia stilll commands a lot of energy and
attention from me. I suppose I am not alone in the CAC list. I suppoe this
diversity can be an asset. After all, an immigrant AA and a American born AA
are both AA, each has legitimate needs and valuable contribution. But it may
take time for the group to get used to each other’s style. Again, speaking
for myself only, my understanding of ABC’s need has increased considerably
through CAC.

Yours
Hon-Wai

Tim Tseng responds:

Thanks Hon-Wai. And best wishes as you get “re-booted” in HK. If you’re on
line while in HK, please leave us your email address so that we can stay
connected.

About djchuang
Creating the safe and trusted space on the internet for all things Bible - learn more at http://get.bible

Comments are closed.

